Daw Nn Tawng

Daw Nan Tawng



Brief HIstory Of Department

The Department of Myanmar was established in 1963 with just two staffs in Mingaladon township. U Myaing Thant who was appointed as Lecturer/ Head of the department was assisted by one and only tutor. In 1965, the department was expanded with one new Assistant lecturer and two tutors. In 1995, the department was shifted to new Campus in North Okkalapa town ship. As the time passes, the department now has thirteen teaching staffs serving under the present head of department, Daw Ohnmar Myaing, who previously was the head of department at University of Pharmacy (Yangon). She was transferred to University of Medicine (II) in 2005.


Former Head Of Department

Photo Name Degree Year
U Myaing Thant
B.A (Hons) M.A (1963-1964)
Daw Myint Than
B.A (Hons) M.A (1964-1965)
U Win Mon
B.A (Gen. Hons) M.A (1965-1975)
Daw Thi Thi Htut
M.A (1975-1982)
Daw San San Hlaing
B.A (Hons) M.A (1982-1984)
Daw Khin Pyone Yi
M.A (1984-1992)
Daw Mya Than
B.A (Hons) M.A (1992-2000)
Daw Than May
M.A (2000-2005)

Aim & objective

At the end of the course, the students should be able to: –

For Knowledge

(1) Understand and vivify the basic fundamental knowledge of proper style and format of writing in Myanmar language.
(2) Acclimatize and familiarize with the basic moral principle of Myanmar.

For Skill

(3)  Express concisely with either written or spoken Myanmar   language.

(4)  Cultivate the foundation of formal writing in the field of healthcare, in both   preventive   and curative sectors.

(5)  Acquire the art of translation.

For Attitude

(6)   Develop and uphold the required self-esteem in the community.

Group Photo of Myanmar Department

New & Announcement