1963 to 1970

University of Medicine 2, Yangon was established as Medical College 2 in Mingalardon Township on July 15 1963. Although it was initially founded as a faculty of Rangoon University, under the Ministry of Education, in 1964, it was transformed as an independent Institute of Medicine 2, Yangon. Although the Defense Services General Hospital was an only affiliated hospital since 1963, North Okkalapa General Hospital and Insein General Hospital were affiliated as other main teaching hospitals in 1970.

October 1, 1973

On October 1, 1973, Institute of Medicine 2, Yangon was transferred to the Ministry of Health from the Ministry of Education and managed under the Department of Medical Education, which is now designated as the Department of Medical Sciences. Production of all categories of human resources for health services became under its governance. Thingangyun Sanpya General Hospital became the fourth affiliated hospital of the Institute of Medicine 2 in 1996.

September 25, 1996

On September 25, 1996, the campus of the Institute was moved from Mingaladon cantonment area to North Okkalapa Township, which is approximately 12 miles away from the downtown Yangon. In 1996, the Defense Services General Hospital ceased as an affiliated hospital for the Institute of Medicine 2, Yangon and South Okkalapa Maternal and Child Hospital became affiliated hospital instead. Since June 10, 2005, Institute of Medicine 2, Yangon was upgraded as University of Medicine 2, Yangon.


In 1997, Field Training Centre for Community Medicine was established in Hlegu Township, which is about 13 miles from the campus and one of the townships of the Yangon Division.
As for the graduate medical training, although only 50 students were accepted each year initially number of uptakes has been increased gradually over the subsequent years. Since the end of the year 2000, the University has been accepting around 500 uptakes every year.


Postgraduate studies for Master Degrees in Anatomy and Physiology started in 1973. Currently, the University has been conducting 6 Diploma courses, 19 Master degree courses, 26 Doctor of Medical Science courses for clinical disciplines and 8 Ph.D courses in Basic Medical Science.