Welcome to Microbiology

Professor Win Win Maw
MBBS, PhD (Shimane)
FACTM (Australia), Dip MedEd
Professor and Head

About Our Department

The department was established in May 1965 by Prof. Daw Hpay, MBBS, DTM & H (Eng.), Dip Bact (London), MPH (Harvard) MRC.Path, (London), Professor  and Head of the Department of Microbiology, University of Medicine (1). She served as supervisor to the department of the University of Medicine (2) with three full-time demonstrators. Three lecturers from the Department of Microbiology, University of Medicine (1) also assisted  in the teaching programme.

Dr.G.Keleman, MD (Pees) , from the Republic of Hungary  was visiting Professor from 1966 to 1968. Dr. U Tin Aung was Head of Department from October 1969 to March 1980.Dr. Margaret Tu served as Lecturer and Head of Department from 1980 to 1982 and in 1982 she was promoted to Professor and Head. When Dr. Margaret Tu retired in October 1988, Dr.Salome Hla Gyaw became the head of Department.  On her retirement, Dr. Ronald Sein Dwe became the Professor and Head on January 17, 1989. He was transferred to the University of Medicine (1), as Professor and Head on January 10, 1990 and replaced by Dr.Khin Ma Gyi as Professor and Head. On her retirement, Dr. Kyi Kyi Thinn was appointed as Professor and Head on March 17, 1997. She was transferred to University of Medicine (1) on July 20, 1998. Professor Myint Aung took over the post on the same day. He was promoted as pro-rector of University of Medicine (1) on May 14, 2001 and Professor May Kyi Aung held the chair of the department. In 2013 Professor Win Win Maw,  Head of the Microbiology Department, University of Medicine, Magway was transferred as Professor and Head of the Department. There are sixteen members of teaching staff at present

Former Heads (Microbiology)