Department Of Botany

Daw Tin Tin Oo

B.Sc.(Hons.), M.Sc (Botany )

Lecturer and Head

When Medical College (2) was established in 1963, the Department of Botany was run by Dr. Daw Khin Sein, Ph.D (Lond.), as Lecturer and Head of the Department, and the practical classes were conducted by three full-time demonstrators and three honorary demonstrators from the Department of Botany, Yangon University.

Former Department Head

Dr.  Khin Sein,                  Ph.D (Lond.)                1963-1964

Daw Khin Ngwe Phyu,    M.Sc.                            1964-1966

Daw Khin Khin Thi,         M.Sc.                           1966- 1971

Daw Thein Thein Daing,   M.Sc.                            1971- 1978

Dr.  Myint Myint San       Ph.D (Australia)          1980- 1992

Dr.  Myint Myint San       Ph.D (Australia)          1992- 1998

Daw May Kyi Win           M.Sc.                           1998- 2009

Daw Aye Aye Htay           B.Sc., M. Sc.                 2009 – 2011

Daw Wah Wah  Htay            B.Sc., M. Sc.                 2011 – 2015



The class tests consists of

(i) Three 2-hour theory test ( MCQ, and MEQ )

(ii) Two 2-hour Practical test


Promotion examination

The final examination consists of

(i) one 3-hour theory paper (MCQ, and MEQ )

(ii) one 2-hour practical paper

Weightage for the final examination

Class Work = 30%

Theory = 50 %

Practical = 20%